RSS

Meditation and Site News

21 Jan

So, first and foremost–the Pink Pagan is no longer a podcast. I feel as though I can serve you better as a blog only. As always, I’m open to any and all topics–I will cover anything New Agey OR Nerdy.

So, bring it on–I’m up for a challenge.

So, now onto a topic that I’ve been promising for some time now—meditation.

Meditation is harder than it sounds- you can’t just sit on the ground and close your eyes. Meditation is about clearing your mind and attempting to put yourself into a tranquil space. Meditation can relieve stress and anxiety and assist you in focusing your mind, among other things.

Meditation is a practice of Eastern Religions but many New Age practitioners, no matter their spirituality, have found the benefits of meditation. Many Wiccans and Pagans use meditation to assist with their everyday life as well as their rituals.

Meditating before a ritual or spell can actually prove very useful; during ritual it is helpful if one is in an altered state of consciousness when performing their rite. Meditation is one of the most popular ways to achieve that altered state, and it’s much easier if you’re a solitary.

There are probably a million different techniques for meditation but I have only found one that really worked for me. Unfortunately I can’t remember where I read it, so if you know where I go this from, please let me know so I can give credit where credit is due.

  1. Go somewhere that you will not be disturbed. Set a timer for 10 minutes.
  2. Sit in a comfortable position, usually cross legged if you can.
  3. Rest your arms on your legs with your palms facing upwards
  4. Close your eyes
  5. Take deep breaths and begin to count from 1 to 10. Count each breath separately. If you have a random thought, acknowledge it, set it aside and begin again at 1.
  6. Once you get to 10, start back at 1 but begin counting each set of breaths in and out as one unit. (Inhale, Exhale….1. Inhale, Exhale….2). If you have a random thought, acknowledge it, set it aside and begin again at 1.
  7. Focus on your breathing and continue to count until the timer goes off.
  8. Meditate for 10 minutes each day for a week. Increase your time by 5 minutes every week until you get to an hour.

I’ve tried this technique and found it worked well for me…I couldn’t really get past like 25 or 30, but still. I began to meditate a while ago and then I gave it up as life tends to get in the way. Stay with it though and meditation can bring a lot of peace into your life. My high anxiety levels tells me that I should probably start meditating again.

Hope that was helpful 🙂 Do you have a technique that worked well for you? Email me: thepinkpagan@gmail.com and I’ll post it here and let everyone know.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
