RSS

A Question and a Book Review

13 Jan

First- a question for my followers.

I’m thinking about converting this blog/podcast into simply a blog. A lot less  work and scheduling for me is my main reason for my decision, but I also feel that I will be better able to dedicate my time to doing a great blog rather than a mediocre podcast. However, my convenience aside, I want to know what you think? I don’t want to alienate any of my followers simply because I’m too lazy to do a podcast, so please let me know how you feel about this issue.

Now, onto the fun stuff. There are mild spoilers in this book review, but nothing horrific because it has been a while since I’ve read it so I doubt you’ll be devastated but just FYI.

Today I’m going to be reviewing Starhawk’s book The Fifth Sacred Thing. This is a fictional piece that Starhawk published in 1994. This book focuses around the people living in a Pagan (and slightly Communist in my opinion, but I’m not saying that’s a bad thing) society, they honour the Earth and use magic and they live together in a peaceful–or at least as the beginning- San Francisco of the future. It’s a story about life, struggle and battling for what you believe is right.

What can I say about The Fifth Sacred Thing? To be honest, I haven’t read it in a while, but it is one of my favourite pieces of fiction. I would say that the three main characters are Madrone, a female doctor who uses positive energy to heal, her grandmother Maya, who is wise and shares that wisdom with the reader, and Bird, thought lost and dead to the people of this village, who valiantly escapes from prison and needs to rediscover himself and find a new place.

This book has both suspense, a bit of politics, a bit of action and drama and a lot of heart. It’s my favourite book by Starhawk by far. Check out the Library to a link where you can buy the book on Amazon– if you want it, I suggest you get it off of Amazon or Indigo, or another book website because I find this book notoriously difficult to find in mainstream book stores.

Also, they want to make The Fifth Sacred Thing into a movie– click here for the movie’s website so that you can learn more about the project and donate if so inclined.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 13, 2013 in Blog Posts

 

Leave a Reply

 
