RSS

Pagans and Praying

17 Dec

When one thinks of praying one often thinks of kneeling beside your bed at night, folding your hands and speaking to God and asking him for guidance and protection.

Is it a contradiction for Pagans to pray?

I don’t think so, I often sit in front of my altar and speak to the Goddess for guidance–I even have Goddess prayer beads. I often find it a release to speak to the Goddess from my heart and ask for her wisdom. I don’t cast a circle, I don’t invoke the Goddess and the God because I feel as though they are always with me. What do you think? Can Pagans pray in a way similar to Christians or is that way of prayer only for the monotheistic God?

Can we sit in front of out altars, or simply in front of a statue or a candle and speak to the Great Ones as if we were talking to an honored friend?

Think about it, tell me what you think.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in Blog Posts

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Pagans and Praying

  1. knixie.net

    January 13, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I don’t think prayer is reserved for one type of religion. Anybody can pray to any deity they choose. I see prayer as a way of releasing your worries. It’s kind of like talking to a therapist. You feel better afterwards, you have a renewed outlook, your positivity goes up.

     
    • thepinkpagan

      January 13, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      I agree with you Knixie, I often sit in front of my altar when I am lost and feeling alone . I hold my Goddess prayer beads, light my God and Goddess candle and speak to the Great Ones about what I need and want out of life, as well as what I’m going through.

       

Leave a Reply

 
